2019 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Regional

PPL Center continues to solidify itself as a destination for major sporting events, as today the NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has selected the arena to host the 2019 Midwest Regionals the weekend of March 29-31, 2019. The exact competition dates of the two-day Regionals are to be announced. Penn State University will serve as the host institution for the event.

"The arena was designed to attract major events to the Lehigh Valley and it continues to live up to its reputation,” said Rob Brooks, Owner, BDH Development and Lehigh Valley Phantoms. "We are thrilled to partner with Penn State to host the 2018 and 2019 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Regionals at PPL Center. We look forward to building a long-lasting relationship with the NCAA and continuing to grow the sport of hockey in the Lehigh Valley.”

PPL Center is no stranger to the national spotlight. The announcement comes on the heels of the incredibly successful 2017 AHL All-Star Classic hosted by the Lehigh Valley Phantoms at PPL Center, which put the global spotlight on downtown Allentown and the Lehigh Valley to more than 100 million households worldwide.

“Following the success of hosting the American Hockey League's All Star Classic this past January, this is another tremendous opportunity to showcase PPL Center and the entire Lehigh Valley to hockey fans across the world,” added Jim Brooks, Owner, BDH Development and Lehigh Valley Phantoms. “Being selected to host the 2019 NCAA Division I Men's Ice Hockey Regionals is a great honor and we are excited for the positive impact it will have on our community.”

“Penn State Athletics is thrilled to have the opportunity to host NCAA Men’s Hockey Regionals at the PPL Center in 2019,” said Director of Athletics Sandy Barbour. “We are excited to bring these NCAA Championship events to the Lehigh Valley, with the added possibility of our men’s hockey students being able to compete in front of our passionate alumni and fans from Eastern Pennsylvania and the region. We look forward to working with a variety of constituencies in the Allentown area to provide a memorable experience for the teams and fans from the Lehigh Valley and all over the country who will attend these first-time NCAA Championship events in the PPL Center.”

"Special thanks to our friends at PPL Center, Lehigh Valley Phantoms, and Penn State for leading the charge on this bid effort,” said Discover Lehigh Valley President Michael Stershic. “We're excited to host the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Regional in Allentown and look forward to showcasing Lehigh Valley to the NCAA and visiting fans."  

Read Less Read More